Cricket Tournaments in Mumbai

“You can take the boy from Bombay; You can’t take Bombay out of the Boy.” -Salman Rushdie


Mumbai was formerly known as Bombay. Crammed up streets and diverse cultures being the trademark, the city known for its astir lifestyle is nevertheless the sleepless city. With a coastline stretching for about 150 kilometers, Mumbai once referred to as an archipelago of seven Islands today has evolved to be the commercial Capital of India.


Permeated with grounds and cricketers every nook and corner, alike every other Indian city, Mumbai has a vast fan base for the game. The game holds and binds the diversities and dwells them into one.


The city has a strong domestic circuit. With 41 Ranji titles and 14 Irani Cups which is the highest by any state, the city can be addressed to as one of the most the strongest domestic sides. It has produced world class talents like Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar, Polly Umrigar, Vijay Merchant, Ajinkya Rahane.


The Mumbai Indians (MI), is the official team of Mumbai in the IPL tournament. The franchise owned by Reliance groups is one of the most successful teams in the IPL. Mumbai Indians was sold to the Reliance for an amount of $111.9 million and that has made it to be the most expensive franchise in the IPL.


Sachin Tendulkar being named their brand icon the team initially struggled to make their way in such a big tournament, but from 2013, with Rohit Sharma stepping on the captaincy the team has established itself successful and has bagged three IPL titles and two Champions League trophies.


The team, with Rohit Sharma being their highest run getter and Lasith Malinga their leading wicket taker, recently became the first team to play in 200 T20 matches and became the first team to win 100 matches in the IPL. They were also the first team to win the IPL trophy thrice and the record was lately equaled by Chennai Super Kings. MI also has a record of prominent players such as Sachin Tendulkar, Ricky Ponting, Lasith Malinga, Sanath Jayasuriya, Yuvraj Singh, Pollard etc.


Mumbai Indians embarked on their IPL journey with their home ground being the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai for the first two seasons. And in the third season they played all their home matches at Brabourne stadium as the Wankhede stadium was under renovation after which all of the matches were hosted in the Wankhede stadium. The Mumbai Cricket Association owned stadium is their official home ground with a seating capacity of 33,000.


The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA), is the official board of Maharashtra representing them in the BCCI tournaments. They have men and women teams for various age groups and they organize tournaments across various districts in Mumbai, Thane and Navi Mumbai. They recognize talents across the state and promote them by organizing camps and keep cricket flowing by conducting many Cricket tournaments in Mumbai . These tournaments are conducted at school and college levels.


Mumbai is still a great place to be a sports fan. The Vada Pav alone is enough to get people to the city to enjoy some games.