Image Credits:

  • Feb
  • 08

“My dad is my biggest source of inspiration through all my ups and downs” – Sheldin Roshan, TN Basketball Player

Author Image Fisto Staff
Sheldin Roshan, a power forward from the Jeppiaar Institute of Technology, is standing 6-foot-5, demonstrates impressive versatility on both ends of the floor. Offensively, he displays a nice skill set and feel for the game, but also brings mobility, athleticism, and toughness to the defensive end of the floor. Sheldin, who has also been a standout performer this year with Tamil Nadu U-21 team that won the Gold medal at the Khelo India Youth Games, the 19-year-old, discussed his overall game and his expectation in the upcoming games in the interview. [caption id="attachment_14751" align="aligncenter" width="2048"] Aiming High: "I improved is my shooting skills but still I’ve got a lot more to work on especially my post move skills."[/caption]   EXCERPTS What made you choose basketball and who has been your inspiration? I was a tall kid during my high school and my school coach selected me for his team to participate in a local tournament. That was my first encounter with Basketball, I really enjoyed playing the sport and thereafter my journey as a professional started. My dad is my biggest source of inspiration,  he has been with me through my ups and downs, especially during my downs and motivated me to fight through. What position do you play on the team? What are some challenges that you have faced? Most of the tall players play at the center as it is challenging and being tall, it is my position too. The position itself is very challenging. How would you describe your game to people who haven’t seen you play? I consider myself as a player who helps my team with assisting and rebounding more than scoring. Who is your favorite basketball player and why? My favorite player is Lebron James, though he is 32 years old, he works really hard and is highly competitive. He bounces back stronger than he already was each season and I really like the efforts he makes to push him over the competitive edge. How do you prepare for a game that’s different from your teammates? I don’t try anything new; I just go with usual practice, little extra shooting and some mental preparation.   How well does the college facilitate the sport basketball? Are you satisfied with the efforts of the college? Our college makes sure we get the best coaching; we have practice for more than 5 hours a day. Our college has even provided us with a physiotherapist to help us and we participate in a lot of tournaments to get more experience and exposure. Which is the game that you will never forget? JIT Vs ICF at PSG Tech in which we won at a point difference is the best match I have played so far. What’s your highest point in a single game? And it was against which team? The 43 points I scored against Sathyabama is my highest individual score in a single match. Looking back at your school days and now, how did you think you evolved as a player and in what area do you feel you have improved the most? And what’s something you want to add to your game or get better at as you finish college? I feel one of the major things I have improved is my shooting skills but still I’ve got a lot more to work on especially my post move skills. How old were you when you first dunked a basketball? I was 16 years old when I first dunked. Describe what was it like winning the Khelo India title this year? Of course winning feels good and we felt extremely happy winning the title this year and will work hard to keep the winning streak for the next year too. What is the best feeling about being centre and power forward? What is the worst? The best feeling is we can play inside and outside the paint and there is nothing to feel bad about it. You played for both college team and Tamil Nadu team, so what are a few goals that the both college and TN team has set this year? What about personal goals you hope to achieve? The goal I have set for my college matches is to win each and every tournament this year and get ranked amongst the top teams in Tamil Nadu. Regarding the state team we want to win each and every championship and continue to stay as the top team in the nation. I have to improve my skills and help those teams to achieve the goals. Where do you see yourself five years from now? I would like to play basketball at bigger levels.   RAPID FIRE Sport other than basketball: Football College goals: Should try to be good at academics TV Show: Flash, Arrow What's your favorite basketball team? Los Angeles Lakers If you could spend 24 hours in anyone's shoes, who would it be and why? Kobe 10, because it had been my favorite shoe.  
Have Something worth offering to? Advertise with us. Email: [widget id="fbw_id-2"]

Achiever of the week

View Details

Shivangi Sharma