Image Credits: .

  • Apr
  • 26

Dev Javia - "Making my country proud is my goal and it definitely demands a lot of responsibility"

Author Image Fisto Staff

What is your fitness mantra?

"Fitness first - Diet must - Tennis MAST"

When did you start playing and do you remember why you started?

I started playing at the age of six. I was a hyperactive child and therefore my parents wanted me to stay occupied.

What does it mean to you, to represent India?

Making my country proud is my goal and it definitely demands a lot of responsibility.

How would you want to be known in 10 years from now?

I want to be known as a fighter inside the tennis court and a humble person off the court.

In what area of your game do you think, you need to improve?

I need to get physically stronger for accelerating my game to a higher level!

Who do you want to be the flag bearer for India in 'TOKYO OLYMPICS 2020'?

I think Ms. P V Sindhu should be the flag bearer for India in 'TOKYO OLYMPICS 2020'

Perk of being an athlete

Being an athlete helps a person to be more focused, face challenges and take instant decisions from a young age.

Your first match

At the age of 10, I went to Mumbai for my 1st AITA U-12. Even after fighting hard I lost against my city mate in a tie-break. I had cried a lot.

Who has the greatest influence in your life?

My mom is my greatest influence because she made me learn how to fight it out during tough and difficult situations.

What are the most common roadblocks that stop players from achieving their dreams?

Shortage of finance, expectations from a student and lack of other facilities hinders players from achieving their goal.

If you had to be stranded on a deserted island for one month, which one of your teammates would you want to bring with you? I would bring Dharmil Shah, my best friend and hitting partner.

Tattoo you would like to have!

I would get a tattoo of my name in the Japanese language.

What are your future goals?

Short term - To come in top 150 ITF Jr ranking by the end of the year.

Long-term - To be No.1 in the world and win an Olympic Gold medal for my country.

What's on your bucket list?

Nike sponsorship for apparel

Playing against Alexander Zverev

Going abroad for short duration coaching and hitting practice

Which is the one place you really want to travel to?

Deception Island in Antarctica is a place that I would love to travel to.

What's the last book you read that you simply could not put down until you finished?

'Rafa my story' was an amazing book that I read recently.

What is your scariest experience so far?

During China ITF trip, the taxi driver left my mom and me alone at midnight due to the language barrier.It was a very scary experience for both of us.

Describe ONE moment that you won't forget!

I will never forget winning RTW masters at Kolkata.

What are your achievements so far?

  • India No.1 in U-12 & U-14 age group
  • Represented India in Qatar, Vietnam, Bangkok
  • Bronze at Vietnam
  • GOLD at Qatar
  • Selected for Sub Jr Wimbledon
  • Selected & Represented Asia team for Europe circuit
  • Won 2 doubles title in Europe circuit
  • Beating senior players in ITF Jr tournaments
  • Gold in U-14 & U-17 SGFI
  • Gold in U-17 Khelo India

Your favorite team/club!

I like the Indian Cricket Team.

[widget id="fbw_id-2"]

TAGS :

Achiever of the week

View Details

Hansini Mathan

Table Tennis

NEWSLETTER