Image Credits: .

  • Jun
  • 20

Lalita Devarakonda -

Author Image Fisto Staff

Preferred Court

I prefer grass court. Though the slippery nature of grass court is it’s defining feature, I think I can play better on grass court.

When did you start playing and tennis?

I started playing at the age of 7. I liked tennis from a very young age. Eventually, I started taking it seriously.

Something that you truly believed in

The faith that my coach and I have in my potential is something that nobody else had.

One message to your opponents

This match ain’t gonna be a piece of cake.

How will you want to be known in 10 years from now?

I want to be a renowned tennis player. I want to win many tournaments and excel in my sport.

In what area of the game do you think you have to improve?

I need to improve in many areas of my game. I think that improvement should be a constant and continuous aim of a sportsperson.

Perk of being an athlete

Athletes have good sportsmanship and discipline. Also, they have a great physique. Apparently, athletes have great lower bodies.

Your short and long term goals

My goals are to do the best I can in academics and tennis at the university.

PHOTO GALLERY [rev_slider alias="lalita-devarakonda"]

Favorite opponent?

Anyone who brings out the best in me is my favourite opponent. Opponent you dislike playing with?

I do not dislike playing with anyone. I love tennis, how can I hate a person with whom I play?

Your biggest inspiration

My coach is my biggest inspiration. He has always been supportive of me.

What are the initial hurdles you faced and how did you tackle them?

I used to be scared of going for a lap around the lake as punishment. I used have trouble playing with certain types of players such as lobbers. With time, I overcame my fears and my thinking towards the game changed.

What would be your ultimate achievement?

My ultimate achievement would be to balance my personal and professional life in the best way possible.

What does it mean to you to represent India?

It would be an honor to represent India. But unfortunately, I didn’t get the chance yet.

One match that you are very proud of

I’m proud of one of my victories when I was 13 years old. I was playing in the under 14 category. It was the semifinals of a big tournament and I had to play with the girl to whom I was losing, for about a year then. On that day too, I was a set down and I knew that the people outside were writing me off. But, I won that match in a 3 setter and proved to myself and others that I am a capable and determined player.

If you could wake up tomorrow in the body of another athlete, who would it be ?

Serena Williams. I can blast the ball with all my aggression like her.

Are you enjoying the process of sport or are you worrying about the outcomes?

I used to worry a lot about outcomes of my work. But over the past few months, I’ve stopped worrying due to the change in circumstance. Now, I’m very glad.

Your World Ranking and National Ranking?

My best ITF juniors ranking was 420.

My best national ranking under 18 is 9, and I’m ranked 33 in the women’s ranking.

[widget id="fbw_id-2"]

Achiever of the week

View Details

Hansini Mathan

Table Tennis