Image Credits: FISTOSPORTS

  • Jul
  • 11


Author Image Gomathi Rajam

With new teams claiming new titles and new names being etched on the record books, 2019 was an exceptional year that broke the usual norms. The new teams having pulled into the domestic circuit and the new domestic leagues been having introduced the Indian sporting is indubitably proceeding towards a new dawn.

Take a look at some of the Exceptional team wins scripted by Indians in 2019 that made us enliven the spirit of the sport:




Though not widely known and celebrated, Team SO Bharat, at it’s ninth appearance at the tournament has inscribed history with a startling number of 368 medals, comprising of 85 Gold, 154 Silver and 129 Bronze.

The Powerlifters, topping the medal count with 96 medals, Team SO Bharat have clinched medals across all the sports including Judo and Futsal despite being the first time to have participated at the sport.  India was also granted the privilege of hosting the Football Championship for the first time ever.




Sethu FC, the Tamil Nadu based team were crowned Champions for the first time at the Indian Women’s League, the top Women’s football league in India, and by doing so has  created history. The team who concluded runners last season, missed the championship by a narrow margin and they have made up for the loss by emerging Champions this season.




Amongst the many records broken by our women this year, this stands out to be one of the most salient one. The Indian women Rugby Team recorded it’s first ever International victory at the 15S game at the Asian Women Rugby Championship on beating Singapore and they finished at the third spot at the tournament. The historic Women Rugby women team comprised of 26 women including working women and mothers.  The passion and sheer determination of the players  who came on to the field despite not even being paid is what makes the victory one of the most remarkable one in the sporting History of India though the sport has been played over a decade.




umbai Indians, the Mumbai based IPL Franchise, which is being helmed by Rohit Sharma and mentored by Sachin Tendulkar savored  a successful IPL Campaign this year to finish on the winning side  for the for the fourth time. The team that locked horns against their arch rivals and the Defending Champions, Chennai Super Kings, won over the latter in a nail-biting finale at the grounds of Hyderabad to lift the IPL trophy for the fourth time. The Mumbai Indians is one of the most successful teams at the Indian Premier League with a huge fan base throughout the country. The team introduces emerging talents throughout the globe every year at the player auction.


Image result for MUMBAI INDIANS 2019


The Blues of Bangalore, lead by the Indian team’s Skipper Sunil Chhetri , ceased their  star-crossed relationship with the trophy and claimed their maiden Indian Super League title this year. Bengaluru FC, who were the runners last year, won over the FC Goa  to emerge Champions for the first time. The finals of the ISL 2019, did not see both the teams scoring any goals till the full time, when Rahul Bheke of Bengaluru FC  shot up and headed BFC to their maiden win with his header at the Extra time.

Image result for bengaluru fc win isl



The Chennai City FC is the Chennai based Football club at the I-League.  The Chennai City FC registered their maiden championship at the I-League by winning over the Minerva FC. All that was required off Chennai City was a victory at the final match of the league fixture to overthrow Quess East Bengal to snatch their maiden title and with that  win  Chennai City FC created history by winning their maiden I-League title.

Image result for CHENNAI CITY FC win



The Chennai Lions franchise, lead by ‘The Poster Boy of Indian Table Tennis’ Sharath Kamal won it’s first ever Ultimate Table Tennis title against the defending champions Dabang Delhi T.T.C. The team comprises of reigning stars including Sharath Kamal, Petrissa Solja(GER)and Tiago Apolonia (POR). The Chennai Lions, one of the three new teams that unfolded this year, started it’s UTT Journey with on a victorious note overthrowing the defending Champions Dabang Delhi T.T.C. Sharath Kamal and Petrissa Solja lead the show, taking  the team to a whole new level and helped to bring the cup home.


Image result for CHENNAI LIONS



Chennai Spartans, the Chennai based team was crowned champions at the inaugural edition of the Pro Volleyball League. The Chennai Spartans recorded who were the third at the points table registered a thumping 3-0 win against Calicut Hero’s the table toppers in the finals to bag the maiden title at the Inaugural edition. The team produced the League’s top scorer and the Best Spiker Rudy Verhoeff  and the win at the Inaugural edition has earned the Chennai Spartans the qualification for the FIVB Asian Men’s Club Volleyball Championship.


Image result for CHENNAI SPARTANS



Bengal warriors, the Kolkata based franchise at the Pro Kabaddi League(PKL), bagged their maiden PKL Trophy at the seventh edition of the Pro kabaddi League. The team won over the Dabang Delhi team to relish their maiden PKL Title. The team inaugurated in 2014, had a terrible blow the first two seasons and the whole team was entirely replaced after which the team consistently made it to the play-offs for three consistent seasons and this was the first season  the team embarked on to the finals of the PKL.

Related image


Bengaluru Raptors the Bangalore based franchise at the Premier Badminton League, on beating the Mumbai Rockets 4-3 at the finals of the Premier Badminton League bagged the maiden PBL Trophy and the team lead by Kidambi Srikanth became the fifth team to win the PBL Title.

Image result for BENGALURU RAPTORS            

Achiever of the week

View Details

David Beckham